Winners of the Small Cell Forum Industry Awards 2015

Commercial success, innovation and real world deployments recognized at Small Cells World Summit 2015

Winners of the Small Cell Forum Industry Awards 2015

The winners of the Small Cell Forum Small Cell Industry Awards 2015 were announced last night (10 June 2015) in London. Held annually as part of the Small Cell World Summit, the awards were set up to recognize outstanding achievement within, and contributions to, the small cell industry.

The awards were open to the whole industry and judged independently of the Small Cell Forum by a panel of distinguished analysts, journalists and industry experts, chaired by Caroline Gabriel, research director, Maravedis Rethink.

Gabriel said: “The awards categories were revised this year to provide as much focus on commercial success as on innovations – this reflects the growing maturity of the industry, in which a technology’s real world impact is as important as bright new ideas.

“As a judge it is always difficult to pick winners and I want to congratulate everyone shortlisted. The large number of entries demonstrates the increasing breadth of the ecosystem surrounding small cells, particularly in areas such as management and planning tools, as well as services. The industry is in a strong position to deliver even more large-scale deployments worldwide.”

Now in its seventh year, the awards attracted entries from operators and vendors across the world. The entries received highlighted the market momentum and small cells’ strong penetration across home, urban, enterprise and rural & remote use cases.

Sue Monahan, CEO of Small Cell Forum said: “This year’s winners show how operators and innovators are pushing the boundaries of technology to increase small cell deployment worldwide.

“These awards are a showcase of small cell success – delivering premium end-user experience to residential customers, major corporate businesses and providing greater access in remote areas.  Congratulations to the winners and all the shortlisted companies on another incredible year.”

 The 2015 Small Cell Forum Small Cell Industry Award winners

Excellence in commercial deployment (RESIDENTIAL)
Fujitsu & KDDI: Partner to deliver VoLTE by deploying residential small cells

Excellence in commercial deployment (ENTERPRISE) (Pictured above)
SpiderCloud Wireless & Vodafone: Vodafone UK Sure Signal Premium with SpiderCloud E-RAN

Excellence in commercial deployment (URBAN)
SK Telecom: SK Telecom’s smart HetNet solutions in urban deployments

Excellence in commercial deployment (RURAL & REMOTE)
Parallel Wireless & EE: Reimagining the economics of rural cellular deployments

Small cell access point design and technology
Airspan Networks: AirRAN - The Virtual Small Cell

Small cell network element design and technology
Quortus & Cisco: Quortus and Cisco delivering industry’s first enterprise small cell VoLTE solution

Small cell backhaul design and technology
Vodafone: Urban small cell backhaul in Vodafone Netherlands

Small cell tool design and technology (management, SON, planning)
Nokia Networks: Nokia 3-D Geolocation: Maximizing the Return on Investment for Small Cells

Small cell technology and deployment enablers (components, subsystems, software, and system integration)
JCDecaux: Developing connectivity solutions with small cells

Social impact – promoting small cells for social/economic/environmental development
ip.access & SiRRAN: Small cells create advanced LTE test beds for aspiring engineers worldwide


Judges' Choice
SK Telecom: For pioneering work in developing & deploying innovative small cell architectures and advocating the HetNet approach.

Individual contribution to Small Cell Forum activities
Kit Kilgour (ip.access): For work with the Security Task Force and long time valued support of Small Cell Forum activities.

Chair's Award (two awards)
Clare Somerville (Intel Corporation): For an outstanding contribution to the work of Small Cell Forum.

Aya Mukaikubo (SoftBank): For long term, dedicated commitment and contribution to Small Cell Forum activities.

For full details of the winners go to




Leave a Comment